User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
  • Approves DPRs for 24 Towns/Cities

JAMMU: Chief Secretary, B R Sharma Thursday chaired the  meeting of the State Level Sanctioning Cum Monitoring Committee (SLSMC) for implementing 'Housing for All' (HFA) Urban Mission in Jammu and Kashmir under the Pradhan Mantra Awas Yojana (PMAY). Commissioner/Secretary, Finance, Navin K Choudhary Commissioner Secretary, Housing & Urban Development, Hirdesh Kumar and other officers were present in the meeting.

'Housing for All' Urban Mission to be implemented during 2015-2022, was launched by the Union Ministry of Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation (MoHUPA) with an objective to address the housing requirements of urban poor viz Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) families including slum dwellers for which all the States are required to prepare ‘Housing for All Plan of Action’ for the period 2015-22 with Annual Implementation Plans on yearly basis.

The Mission shall be implemented through 1) in situ slum redevelopment', 2) affordable housing in partnership', 3) credit linked subsidy scheme and 4) beneficiary led individual house construction or enhancement. The J&K Housing Board has been designated as the State Nodal Agency for implementation of the HFA (Urban) Mission in J&K.

Commissioner Secretary, H&UD, informed the Committee that Housing for All Plan of Action has already been submitted to the Union Ministry, following which the Ministry asked the State Government to prepare the DPRs of all 25 Towns/Cities under Phase I.  The towns include Jammu, R S Pura, Samba, Kathua, Basholi, Poonch, Rajouri, Udhampur, Ramban, Kishtwar, Bhaderwah and Doda in Jammu region and Srinagar, Ganderbal, Budgam, Anantnag, Bijbehara, Shopian, Pulwama, Baramulla, Sopore, Handwara and Kupwara in Kashmir region, besides Leh and Kargil towns.

The Committee in its meeting today approved the Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) for Beneficiary Led  Construction ( New House Construction) for 24 Cities/Towns to the tune of Rs. 240.38 Crore, comprising Central Share of Rs. 73.72 Crore, State share of 7.88 Crore and beneficiary contribution of Rs. 158 Crore, for 4915 beneficiaries.  The Committee was informed that the State Government has requested the Union Ministry to convey approval for conducting house demand survey of remaining 55 towns to be taken up during the 2nd phase (April 2017- March 2019).

Under the Scheme the eligible families belonging to EWS category will be provided assistance to the tune of Rs 1.65 Lakh per dwelling unit to either construct new house or enhance existing houses of their own. The beneficiary in or outside slums have to approach Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) with proof of land/house ownership and the ULBs have to ascertain ownership of land, economic status and eligibility etc. of the beneficiary.

The Committee also asked the H&UD department to publish in the newspaper, the names of all the identified beneficiaries selected for assistance under the 'Housing for All' Urban Mission. The type designs of the dwelling unit have been prepared by the Architect Organization, J&K and Chief Town Planners strictly as per the Guidelines of PMAY-HFA (urban) Mission, fulfilling the National Building Code (NBC) &  specific geographic conditions of the region. Later, the Chief Secretary also chaired the 3rd Meeting of the State Level Apex Committee (SLAC) for implementation of Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban).

The Committee was informed that under the Solid Waste Management (SWM) component of the Mission, the Department has adopted a cluster approach and accordingly 19 clusters have been formed for the scientific disposal of solid waste covering all the 78 Towns and 02 capital cities of the State. Land has been identified for all the clusters except Banihal and Kishtwar, where the matter has been taken up with the District Administration. Moreover for 16 clusters DPRs have been prepared.