Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

JAMMU: Chairing the 113th meeting of the University Syndicate, University of Jammu, Prof. R.D. Sharma, Vice-Chancellor, University of Jammu, dwelled on various important academic and administrative matters with regard to the functioning of the University and also laid stress on the overall infrastructural development of the University. Dr. Meenakshi Kilam, Registrar University of Jammu presented around 70 items in the meeting.Besides giving nod to the various agenda items, the Syndicate also confirmed the action taken on the items endorsed by the Academic Council and the Finance Committee. Threadbare discussions were also held with respect to various other items including the cases regarding regularization of University employees.


Confirmation of the action taken by the Vice-Chancellor in some matters like adoption of revised Statutes of Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) for Master’s Degree, adoption of Statutes, Scheme/Syllabi in the subject of Architecture (B.Arch Degree Programme), start of M.Phil Programme in Biochemistry and Microbiology in the School of Biotechnology, adoption of guidelines pertaining to the Jammu University Internal Complaints Committee Against Sexual Harassment (JUICCASH) etc. were endorsed by the Syndicate. 

The items which were approved by the Syndicate included confirmation of Assistant Professors and Officers appointed in various Departments/Wings of the University, renewal of temporary affiliation in respect of various Government/Non Government, Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between CEERA, NLSIU, Bengaluru and Department of Law, University of Jammu, Adoption of SRO-484 w.r.t. Death cum Retirement Gratuity for the employees appointed or brought on regular establishment as or after 01.01.2010. 

The Syndicate meeting was attended by Dr. Asgar Hassan Samoon, IAS, Principal Secretary to Govt., Higher Education Dept, J&K Govt., Sh. Navin K. Choudhary, IAS, Principal Secretary to Govt., Finance Department, Financial Advisor (Universities), J&K Govt.; Prof Darshana Kumari, Dean, Faculty of Education, University of Jammu; Prof. Rahul Gupta, Dean Faculty of Mathematical Sciences, University of Jammu; Prof. Arvind Jasrotia, Department of Law, University of Jammu; Prof. Ramnika Jalali, Department of Sanskrit, University of Jammu; Prof. Nilofer Hassan Khan, Dean Colleges Development Council, University of Kashmir; Prof. Akbar Masood, Dept. of Bio-chemistry and Dean Faculty of Unani Medicine, University of Kashmir; Prof. Hemla Aggarwal, Principal, Govt. Degree College for Women, Parade, Jammu; Dr. Raj Shree Dhar, Principal, Govt. College of Education, Canal Road, Jammu and Mohd. Rafiq Andrabi, Director Codes, J&K Govt. The meeting of the University Syndicate was immediately followed by the meeting of Joint Committee of both the Universities wherein the matters pertaining to the areas of common interest vis-a-vis the overall functioning of the University of Jammu and the University of Kashmir were deliberated.