Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive


JAMMU: The four week-long UGC-General Orientation Course (GoC) for University and College Teachers organized by the UGC Human Resource Development Centre (HRDC), University of Jammu in collaboration with Department of Lifelong Learning, University of Jammu concluded at University of Jammu here today.  While Dr Kavita Suri, Director & Head, Department of Lifelong Learning, University of Jammu acted as the Course Coordinator of the Course, Dr. Priyanka Sharma was the Co-coordinator. This was the 4th GoC organized for the teachers in the current year by the University of Jammu. The course was attended by various university and college teachers from different parts of the country like Kerala, UP, Haryana etc.


Prof. Jigar Mohammed, Dean Research, University of Jammu was the Chief Guest on the valedictory function. Speaking at the function, the chief guest highlighted the importance of such programmes in the career advancement of the teachers. He underlined the role of UGC programmes for equipping the teachers with the latest knowledge trends. Calling upon the teachers to give their best to their profession as nation builders, Prof. Jigar Mohd also complimented the UGC HRDC and DLL for successfully organizing the General Orientation Course.

Prof JP Singh Joorel, Director UGC HRDC while complimenting the course Coordinator/co-cordinators for successfully organizing the course, hoped that the outgoing teachers would make the best use of the new teaching-learning techniques they learnt during their stay at HRDC when they go back to their respective institutions. He also called upon the teachers to make the best use of their upgraded knowledge gained during the Course. 

Prof Jigar Mohammed gave away the certificates to the successful candidates. Earlier, Dr Kavita Suri presented a detailed report about the various contours of the course and Dr Priyanka Sharma welcomed the dignitaries and participating teachers. The DLL faculty members including Dr Vivek Sharma, Dr. Bharti Prabhakar and Dr Sandeep Singh were also present at the valedictory function.