Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
  • BJP candidate got 8 votes out of 9 polled, elected as Corprator of SMC
  • Sajad Lone's PC sweeps all Wards in Handwara MC elections
  • Congress wins all 13 wards in Leh MC

SRINAGAR:  The BJP wins the urban local body elections in four districts of south Kashmir on Saturday, winning 53 of the 132 wards, where polls were held over four phases earlier this month. The Congress and the BJP are the two national political parties battling for municipal authority in the state as the two major state parties, the National Conference (NC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), have boycotted the elections over lack of clarity in the Centre’s stance on Article 35A. The districts that went to polls were Baramulla, Pulwama, Kulgam, Shopian, Budgam and Anantnag.


BJP candidates have been elected in 75 wards across the six districts, compared to the 52 wards that Congress candidates have prevailed in. A total of 45 wards have been won by independent candidates so far, with an incredible 170 wards going uncontested. Congress candidates failed to win a single ward in Baramulla district, where the BJP is leading with candidates emerging victorious in 17 wards. As many as 16 municipal wards were won by independent contestants while as many as 21 were vacant.


Similarly the Congress failed to register victory in a single municipal ward in Pulwama district. Out of the total 56 wards in the district, a total of 48 were vacant, while BJP and independent candidates won six and two wards respectively. The BJP maintained their considerable lead over the Congress in Kulgam district, winning 10 wards compared to the latter’s three. BJP candidates registered a clean sweep in the Devasar Municipal Committee, winning all eight wards, while the Congress won all their wards from the Yaripora Municipal Committee.


While independent candidates won a total of three wards, as many as 24 wards in the district went uncontested, including all 13 wards in the Municipal Committee Frisal. The BJP was also dominant in Shopian district, winning 12 out of the total 17 wards, with the rest going uncontested. The Congress made up some of the lost ground in the Budgam district, winning a total of 23 wards compared to the BJP’s five. Independent candidates bagged 16 wards while a total of 28 wards went vacant. In Anantnag district, Congress candidates emerged victorious in 26 wards, marginally edging the BJP by one ward. While eight wards were won by independent candidates, 44 went uncontested.


  • BJP candidate got 8 votes out of 9 polled, elected as Corprator of SMC

SRINAGAR: BJP candidate Bashir Ahmad Mir from Shankarpora on Saturday was elected as a corporator of the Srinagar Municipal Corporation (SMC) by a slender margin of seven votes. Interestingly, only nine votes were polled in Shankarpora ward in the outskirts of the city on October 8. Mir was so confident that he had announced his victory at the Shankarpora polling station as soon as the voting concluded.  “The total number of votes polled in the ward was nine, out of which I got eight. My opposite (candidate) got only one,” he told reporters at SKICC here where counting of votes was held.


  • Sajad Lone's PC sweeps all wards in Handwara MC elections

SRINAGAR: Peoples Conference led by Sajad Lone has swept all the wards in Handwara municipal committee (MC) elections. Officials said that all the PC candidates on total 13 wards were declared winners on Saturday after the counting for the polls began at 8 am today. As per the officials, the counting started at 8 am and all the results would be declared later in the day. In many areas, counting has concluded as the voterturnout was very less, mostly negligible.


According to reports, the counting is being held at the Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre (SKICC) in Srinagar and for the Jammu municipal corporation, it is being held at the Polytechnic Institute near Bikram Chowk. Counting is also on for districts at their respective district headquarters. Municipal elections took place in the state after 13 years, held in four phases, covering 79 municipal bodies with an electorate of about 17 lakh electors. A total of 3,372 nominations were filed for 1,145 wards and the voting was held on October 8, 10, 13 and 16.  


  • Congress wins all 13 wards in Leh MC

SRINAGAR:  The Congress has made a clean sweep by winning all the 13 wards in Leh Municipal Committee (LMC) while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to make inroads into the committee. According to reports the 13 Congress candidates, contesting ULB polls for LMC, were declared winners. They said that the BJP failed to open its account in the LMC. Meanwhile, Congress has won 5 wards of the Kargil municipal committee while Independent candidates have won eight wards in the just concluded polls.


An official said that the Congress party candidates were declared successful in five wards while Independents won eight wards. Unprecedented security arrangements have been made in and around the counting centres and only those having valid passes issued by the authorities, are allowed to enter there. The elections did not see participation by two main regional parties, National Conference (NC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) besides Communist Party of India (M), who boycotted the ULB polls in Jammu and Kashmir, alleging that state and Central governments failed to clear their stand on Article 35 A. 

►►►► MOST READ ►►►►