User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive
  • Murtaza warriors lifts the trophy
  • DGP J&K gave away the trophy to the winners

SRINAGAR:  Murtaza warriors clinched the title of the grand Police public premier Cricket league by trouncing Simula Super Stars by 22 runs in the final that was played here today at Sher-i-Kashmir cricket stadium. DGP Sh. K.Rajendra gave away the trophy to winners and the runners up. The grand final match of the mega event, Police public Premier cricket league was today played between Murtaza warriors and Simula Super Stars. Murtaza warriors won the toss and elected the bat first and set a target of 141 runs the opponents with Asif scoring 27 runs. Chasing the target Simula Super Stars bundled out on 118 runs. Murtaza warriors won the final by 22 runs.

 Omer Alam was declared man of the match for his exceptional spell claiming 2 crucial wickets. Best catch of the match was given to the Nazir Ahmad and most sixes of the match was given to Gulzar Ahmad. Jahangir Lone bagged the Best Batsman of the tournament while Sahil Sharma was awarded with Best Bowler of the tournament. Adil Rashi was declared Man of the series for his all round performance both with the bat and ball.

Director General of police , J&K Sh. K Rajendra Kumar was the Chief Guest on the closing ceremony gave away the trophy and the gift cheque worth Rs. 5 lacs to the winners and Rs. 3 lacs. to the runners up team. DGP also awarded the Rs. 2.00 lacs to the captain of the Anantnag Kings for securing 3rd place, besides gift cheques of Rs. 1.50 lacs was awarded to the team securing the 4th place while Rs. 1.00 lac gift cheques were awarded by the DGP to the teams securing 5th to 8th place in the tournament.

The closing ceremony was attended by ADGP Hqr Sh. SP Vaid, ADGP Armed Sh. SM Sahai, ADGP Sh. Dilbagh Singh MD Housing , IGP Kashmir Sh. SJM Gillani, IGP Traffic Sh. JP Singh, IGP CID Sh. AG Mir, IGP Crime Sh. Munir Khan,  IG CRPF Sh. Nalin Prabhat, DIG CKR Sh.Ghulam Hassan Bhat, SSP Srinagar Sh. Amit Kumar, SSP PCR Sh. Imitiaz Hussain, Secretary JK Sports Council and Director Physical Education Kashmir University.

The mega sporting event Police Public premier Cricket league first of its kind in the valley was organized by the Zonal Police headed by Inspector General of Police, Sh. SJM Gillani to promote the sporting spirit among the youth of the state. The cricket tournament featuring all the IPL norms and rules was aimed to provide a firsthand experience of high standard cricketing to the local cricket clubs so as to give a quality exposure to the budding talents of the state.

The tournament was inaugurated by Chief Minister, Mufti Mohammad Sayeed at Sher-e-Kashmir Cricket Stadium on 7th this month amid lot of fanfare with scintillating opening ceremony. 10 teams from across the state participated in the mega tournament. The team owners selected their 16 member scauds by choosing 08 of their own while eight others were selected through bidding of 556 reputed players in a auction that was held in SKICC on Ist June. The matches were played at two venues Sher-e-Kashmir Cricket Stadium and Kashmir University equipped with 3rd Umpire review camera systems with BCCI trained Umpires. Rs.27.18 lacs were awarded as Cash Prizes in this tournament.

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

JAMMU:  IRP-17th Bn. Samba today organized a 15 Km  route march as a sequence of activities/events being organized to mark the Police Raising Day Week celebrations. The route march started from Bn. Hqr. covering Balod, Mnamu & Dorha villages up to Nud on Mansar road. Dy. Commandants S.K. Bakshi-SP,   Rajinder Singh-SP along with Gazatted Officers and 150 personnel of the Bn participated in the route march. The route march serves as a fitness activity to the personnel and also instills a sense of security among the people by strengthening Police Public relations. Enroute a number of villagers/inhabitants of the area interacted with the Officers/ Jawans. The general public of the area appreciated the activities   undertaken by the unit.

User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

SRINAGAR: The Minister for Youth, Services and Sports, Molvi Imran Raza Ansari said that Jammu and Kashmir Police, besides its professional duties has figured quite high in the field of sports and its players have proved their mettle at national and international level also. He said that the sports activities of JKP have helped the youth to channelize their energy in a positive way and also served as a bridge of good will between the people and the police. 

Speaking at the concluding ceremony of 5-day Inter-Battalion Sports Meet-2015 at Bakshi Stadium here this evening, Ansari appreciated the Jammu and Kashmir Police for organizing mega sports events in the State. Stressing upon the sports lovers to avail opportunities provided by the Organization, the Minister said that sports activities are pivotal for maintaining physical health and also enhances mental capabilities of the sports person. He said that the activities create sportsmanship among the personnel, enhancing their discipline, team spirit, besides help the organizers to identify the talented sports person.

Ansari said that sports create camaraderie among the youth and helps them in maintaining their physical and mental fitness. Elaborating the importance of sports he said that sports creates sportsmanship among the personnel to enhance their discipline and talent. He said that the occasion also creates a team spirit among the participants. The activities help to identify the talented sports person to form strong teams which could represent the State at national and international level.  

 Earlier in his welcome address, the ADGP Armed, Mr. S M Sahai thanked the Chief Guest for his valuable time for the closing ceremony. He threw light on organizing the annual sports event in summer capital in which sports personnel from 28 Battalions of IRP and Armed Police participated in varied disciplines including basket ball, volley ball, foot ball, hand ball, tug of war, boxing, wrestling, weight lifting, swimming, shooting, hockey, kabbadi, marathon, shot put, hammer throw, javelin throw, discus throw, long jump and high jump. Besides, sports person from officer ranks of the different battalions participated in badminton, table tennis, lawn tennis and shooting, he added. He thanked the IGP (IR), Mr. Sunil Kumar and his team of officers for conducting the Tournament in a befitting manner.

Mr. Sahai said that tournament was played at different venues including Bakshi Stadium, Indoor Stadium, Polo-Ground, Armed Complex Zewan, Gundun Ground Rajbagh and Amar Singh College. All the events of the tournament were played on knock out basis as per the rules laid down by All India Police Sports Control Board. During the tournament different types of games were played during the Tournament.

Later, the Minister along with DGP, Mr K Rajendra Kumar congratulated the winning teams and presented mementos and trophies to the winning teams. 15th Battalion in women and 20th Battalion were declared Overall Champions of the mega sports event. Among others, the function was attended by MLC, Mr. Khursheed Alam, ADsGP, SK Mishra, SP Vaid and VK Singh, IsGP, DG Sports, Jehangir Mir. AK Choudhary, HK Lohia, Deepak Kumar, SJM Geelani, Sunil Sharma, Yoginder Koul, MA Khan, Jagit Kumar, SA Watali, MA Ganai and JP Singh, Director SSG, SA Mujtaba, DIG, GH Bhat and    Commandants of Armed and IRP battalions and other police officers.